Domingo 9 de augusto

334. anniversary del nacimiento of Benedetto Marcello
45. anniversary of death of Dmitri Shostakovich

Benedetto Marcello (8/9/1686 Venezia - 7/24/1739 Brescia)

Benedetto Marcello

Marcello's life was a strange mixture of the political and the artistic. In 1730 he became Proveditore of Pola, but his health failed here and he assumed the the duties of Camerlengo at Brescia. He furnished the libretto of Ruggieri's "Arato in Sparta". The library at San Marco in Venice possesses the manuscript copy of his well known "Teoria Musicale" and in the Royal Library of Dresden are original copies of "Il Timoteo" and "La Cassandra". The Royal Library at Brussels has preserved the MS. copy of "II Trionfo della Musica nel celebrarsi la morte di Maria Vergine". His great "Paraphrase of the Psalms" is his best work though his a settings of the Salve Regina, the Miserere, and the Lamentations of Jeremias contain features of deep interest to the student of the history of music. The "Paraphrase" appeared in instalments, the first publication being in 1724. His collaborator was the poet Giustiniani.

Dmitrij Šostakovič (9/25/1906 St. Petersburg - 8/9/1975 Moscow)

Dmitrij Šostakovič

Dmitri Shostakovich was born in St. Petersburg (now Leningrad) and died in Moscow. His entire musical career was therefore spent within Russia's Communist system, and in many ways it is clear that he had to strike a balance between his own artistic inclinations and the demands of the state. He was taught by Glazunov among others, learning piano and composition and graduating from the St. Petersburg (Petrograd) Conservatory at the age of 19 with his first symphony. This is a youthful, precocious work demonstrating his musical talents in no uncertain terms, with some similarities in approach to Prokofiev's Classical Symphony.
Though this was an early success, his music didn't always enjoy the approval of the Soviet authorities. His opera "The Nose" received some criticism and "Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District" received oven more. In later years he was to enjoy more artistic freedom, but under Stalin composers and other artists ran the risk of their work being labelled anti-state "formalism". In some cases this could lead to "disappearances" so the threat was very real indeed. Shostakovich withdrew his 4th symphony before its premier for this reason and it wasn't performed until later under more liberal times. Some of Shostakovich's work seems to be simply paying his dues as an upright citizen but in many cases, although his music might outwardly be conforming with the party line, there is nevertheless the feeling that he is rebelling against this.

La lista de los compositores:

524    (desde 5/VIII/2020)

Composiciones de
Benedetto Marcello
Repertorio de los músicos

Enseñar los movimientos de las obras

Sonata en sol mayor para violonchelo y bajo continuo, n.º 6
Jan Škrdlík, violonchelo
bajo continuo:
Kateřina Bílková, clavicémbalo
Kateřina Stávková, viola da gamba

Compositions by
Dmitri Shostakovich
The repertoire of our artists

Enseñar los movimientos de las obras

String Quartet No. 8, Op. 110
Wallinger Quartet

Sonata for cello and piano in D minor, Op. 40
Jan Škrdlík, Cello
Renata Lichnovská Ardaševová, Karel Košárek nebo Petra Besa – klavír